Posted in Uncategorized

Inversions & Anxiety

Lately when my anxiety is kicking up (I have general anxiety disorder, along with a slew of other mental issues) I’ve noticed that inversion of any kind seem to help it. I thought it was just a weirdness about me but I asked my Yoga For All group and got this:

Robin M Said: “Yup! Inversions are really helpful in calming it, unless you are feeling suffocated. Supported bridge can be yummy. Try modifying Fish in a chair. Take table to the wall (your head pressing against the wall to get gentle pressure on the crown of your head). Anything that gets your chin into your sternal notch will help activate the parasympathetic nervous system (rest and relax) to calm you.. Check out Louise Goldberg and Allison Morgan.”

HA! Science!

Nina M Physiologically, any type of back bend compresses the adrenal glands, above the kidneys in the lower back. Stimulation of the adrenals can trigger the sympathetic nervous system and the flight/fight response. And emotionally, some people can feel very vulnerable in a back bend, which opens the front body.

*goes off to do headstands*

Author:

Quirky, eclectic and as alternative as Opelika, AL ever thought to produce. I'm a Yoga for All yoga teacher, a belly dancer, a mom, an out queer woman (Yes, really, in Ala-freaking-bama!) and a crafter extraordinaire. I'm constantly on the go, always making lists and I love to offer a helping hand and a unique insight into my strange little world.

Leave a Reply

