Posted in Uncategorized

Whatever it takes

Whateverittakes

My work wife (you know, your BFF at your place of employment) and I started walking every day during our breaks at work to get more movement into our days. We use this time to catch up and honestly, have bitch sessions. It gets the heart rate up when you’re walking, exclaiming and pointing with your hands and trying to talk at the same time.

A few weeks back while lamenting the amount of things on our _to do_ lists, I told her I was going to have “I’ll take care of it.” Inscribed on my headstone when I die because it seems to be the thing I repeat the most in my life.

This needs to be done…

I’ll take care of it.

I want to do xyz by this weekend…

I’ll take care of it.

It’s both a desperate plea and an acceptance. I have a lot on my plate. I am just that type of person and I have the tenacity to get things done, no matter what it takes. I’ll take care of it. I’m the one responsible for the majority of things in my life and depending on others to handle it is not in my wheelhouse. I’ll take care of it.

And it doesn’t matter what “it” is. Volunteering? Done. Pick you up at 3am? Done. Clean the house, cook the meals, manage the bills, work two jobs? Done and done. I’ll take care of it, whatever it takes. You want shit done? I’m your gal.

So it takes A LOT for me to just say no. I’m selective with it. I’m careful with it. But I do use it and I know how it works. No explanation, no extra words or reasons…just no.

Because sometimes whatever it takes for me to take care of “it” is saying no.

 

 

Author:

Quirky, eclectic and as alternative as Opelika, AL ever thought to produce. I'm a Yoga for All yoga teacher, a belly dancer, a mom, an out queer woman (Yes, really, in Ala-freaking-bama!) and a crafter extraordinaire. I'm constantly on the go, always making lists and I love to offer a helping hand and a unique insight into my strange little world.

Leave a Reply

